{Inspiration} The kitchen

I must admit we have lived in the house a little over two years and I have made the hubby help me paint the kitchen (along with a few other rooms)2 different times. My constant painting and repainted has tought me a lot about how color appears from a paint chip to a wall. I know this has been said before but I really feel it’s the heart of the home. Its our hub for sure , its our dumping ground, paper collecting, little of everything room. There are also a few things that I don’t care for but I am happy we lived with for a while, I know how we use this space everyday.

Here is a picture of how it looks today. I don’t have any pictures of how it started in my pre blogging days. I am sure I don’t need to point out the dreadful ceiling and the lighting… those issues and the flooring are being addressed soon with some inexpensive and creative solutions. I marked some of my design ideas and if you know me things evolve as I go and my creative juices start to flow (including a DIY mason jar chandelier).

IMG_0129-001

The kids bring in book bags, coats, lunch boxes , shoes & all sorts of papers.

so recently I added a 1920’s armorie a friend salvaged for me. I painted it in a milk paint i mixed very thin I wanted it chippy and very thin layers of paint. I wanted to look like it had been sitting around in a barn for ages.

IMG_0116

This space where the armorie nows sits collected “junk” for 2 years. Now its functional.

IMG_0111

We live on a real (small) budget and in a real house mixed with my love of DIY its a process and do as time and money allows. BUT that doesn’t mean I can’t have style and organization, right !?! I love that feeling of i made it myself or the  yep we got that “junque”  for free ad made it into this! I think as a mom and wife we always look to find that balance.

Our home is very much lived in with chips on the floors.

IMG_0186

and toys scattered among the floors ….

IMG_0162

As I begin to look for fabric swatches ….

IMG_0118

and inspiration…

IMG_0127

I would love to hear what you all have to say.

How do you balance?

where do you go for inspiration?

xoxo,

Becky

Leave a Reply

