The Nudge…

I originally posted this on OCT 18th 2013. Was my first “post” but I actually made it a page, new blogger blooper LOL. I am getting ready to upgrade and moving this post here 😉 xoxo

Lately I have been feeling this nudge , one of those nudges you want to ignore. However,  no matter what you do its right around the corner. Well this morning it smacked me right in the face, But before I get to what happened this morning I will give you a little on what has lead up to this point…

First if all I am not a writer. And I do not know much about blogging, at all.  With that said if grammatical errors bother you, this blog might not be for you 😉  but I have always wanted to start a blog and share my journey of little ole me and hopefully inspire you along the way. I also want to share with you tutorials and DIY projects. I have a almost 0$ decorating budget and love to “JunQue” and take someones trash and turn it into my own OOAK  treasure.

This dresser was found while cleaning out my husbands grandparents house , it was going to be trash , this is mid project , love the sunny yellow.
This dresser was found while cleaning out my husbands grandparents house , it was going to be trash , this is mid project , love the sunny yellow.

I am one of those people while cooking dinner (actually trying to roast a chicken ) think ” hmmm….. this door is too stark white maybe I should do something to it . let me run down to my paint cabinet and whip up some homemade chalkboard paint ” B/C this is a totally normal thing to do (it is in my world LOL)

The chalkboard door. Its become the "it" thing at our house. Everyone (including my kids) can't wait to see what is on it .
The chalkboard door. Its become the “it” thing at our house. Everyone (including my kids) can’t wait to see what is on it .

I started a clothing and hair bow line from a old shoebox full of old ribbons I had bought because I liked and had no idea what to do with them , they sat for a year before I decided I was going to make something out of them. At the time I did not even know I was creative or even had a talent , but I guess  I did ( http://pink-lemonade-boutique.com/ ). The story of where and how I started is going to be a separate blog post and series on running your own creative business. But fast forward 6 years and 4 kids I am left with a huge void I can no longer keep up with the demand and take care of my family (and myself) at this lightening super mom speed . And although I am so blessed to be a part of so many memories , its time I make my own and go in this new direction. I am still sewing some dress and making some bows , but on a much smaller scale. And creating  treasures from others “JunQue”  and hand painting signs. Two things lead me to this post.

One of my dresses. Photo taken by  http://www.crystalinglephotography.com/
One of my dresses. Photo taken by http://www.crystalinglephotography.com/

1. MMS post somehow found me on her blog late one night …. this one here http://missmustardseed.com/2011/12/everyone-starts-somewhere/ . I started at my dining room table too and would stay up all night making  hair bows I charged only 3$ for. I have not experienced the success she has but my late nights were extremely important to my family and helped contribute financially. Also, a creative outlet for me as a stay at home mommy of little ones in a new town.

2. This post  here found me this morning from one of my fav blogs to read , I missed it somehow, but today was the day I was supposed to see , read & hear . Truly an amazing testimony. Sums up perfectly of what I have been seeking for my self and business . Kevin from the lettered cottage,  “If God gave me a talent, I want to add value. I don’t want to misuse it. I want to help create an environment where God shows up, and changes lives.” Here is the link http://theletteredcottage.net/interior-design-inspiration/ .

SO now I am here today with my new journey , the next step  , helping you all create , maybe even start a business, or transform our homes & and hopefully inspire you along the way. To follow along with me and more of  My crafty friends, I have started a FB page with some of our finds, DIY projects and treasures.  https://www.facebook.com/junkinthetrunkgirls?ref=hl

FBprofilepicjunque5

xoxo Becky

Leave a Reply

