chippy blue {the process}

This is what what the dresser looked like when I received , a beautiful tigers eye maple wood. The piece was not perfect and needed a few minor repairs. But, the bones were great and made it a perfect candidate to be painted.

beautiful old dresser

beautiful old dresser

I did not want to cover all the wood so I went for a chippy look. I knew milk paint could do its thing to help me achieve this look. Since I want the wood more on the drawers exposed, I also used vaseline a deterrent. I have used vaseline before as a resistant so I knew what to expect and how to use it. I must advise this technique takes a little patience and practice. Its also a little gooey and messy.

I used a bonding agent on the sides for the first coat.

I used a bonding agent on the sides for the first coat.

I layered the paint on the drawers using vaseline in between paint layers.

doing its chippy thing :-)

doing its chippy thing πŸ™‚

I have talked about the “ugly stage” on Facebook but not on here. This is the part where you want to set it to the curb and start all over. Give it time and let it take shape. If you are using paints like milk paint you have to be open to each piece doing it’s own thing. No two pieces are alike and the color varies depending on wood, texture etc. Knowing what you might expect comes over time with experience.

Before it all comes together.

the "ugly" stage

the “ugly” stage

My helper, isn’t he cute πŸ™‚

chippy blue 011I was seriously considering keeping this piece but I am open to selling it knowing it will go to a good home and be loved. But first I must decide what I doing with the top. I was going to strip and stain but I love the natural aged look so I think I am going to clean and use some oil to bring back to life instead.

chippy blue 020-001

I seriously need to invest in a camera, this pic doesn’t do this piece justice.

xoxo,

Becky

4 thoughts on “chippy blue {the process}

  1. Love how this turned out! When I used Vaseline as a deterrent it came out all blotchy! But I wasn’t using milk paint, so maybe that is the difference? Either way, great job! Can’t wait to see more!
    ~Erika @figuringoutfabulous.com (Erika Diven Greco on Your Funky Junk!)

    • Thank you so much πŸ™‚ new fan of your blog ❀ it!
      So I was not a fan of vaseline too with latex paint ,I think its the chippiness of milk paint that makes it work, I want to try a few different paints and techniques and mix and match to see what works best with what paints and make a sorta guide here in the near future. But when using the vaseline do a thin layer and let it dry a hour or more (helps with the gooey lol). xo Becky

Leave a Reply

